Will India stick with Ravichandran Ashwin, Deepak Chahar for 2nd T20I against South Africa?

Ravichandran Ashwin during the training session at Guwahati on Saturday. Image Courtesy: BCCI

Xtra Time Web Desk: With two more competitive matches left before travelling to Australia for the T20 World Cup, the Indian team management will look to get the bowling sorted especially with the injury to Jasprit Bumrah. The batting order especially the top four looks settled going into the T20 World Cup. Captain Rohit Sharma will open the batting with KL Rahul followed by Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav. Hardik Pandya will walk in at No 5 in Australia. As far as the second T20I is concerned, Rishabh Pant or Dinesh Karthik can get a promotion, as Hardik is at the NCA.

But it’s the bowling which will need a look-in. With Jasprit Bumrah getting ruled out for the remaining matches of the ongoing series, Deepak Chahar in all likelihood will get extended run in playing XI. It will be interesting if either Mohammed Siraj or Umesh Yadav gets a nod in.

The team management is unlikely to tinker with spin department with Ravichandran Ashwin likely to be persisted with, keeping in mind the Proteas batting has a few left handers. It will mean Yuzi Chahal will keep sit in the dug-out.

Meanwhile, the Indian captain Rohit Sharma will join the side in Guwahati on Sunday morning. Rohit did not travel with the team on Thursday because of personal commitments.

Here is probable XI for India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Axar Patel, R. Ashwin, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh