Tripathi, Patidar in reckoning as selectors to announce ODI squad for South Africa series

Xtra Time Web Desk: The selection committee will meet after the 3rd ODI against New Zealand A to pick the squad for the upcoming three match ODI series against South Africa at home. Shikhar Dhawan is all set to lead the squad while Sanju Samson can be made his deputy. VVS Laxman will be back as Coach as Rahul Dravid will be flying to Australia for the T20 World Cup.

All members of the Indian T20 World Cup squad will be rested for the ODI Series against South Africa. The Men in Blue are set to leave for Australia on October 6. Rohit and co will have their base camp in Perth and will practice on the bouncy tracks at WACA.

The likes of Rahul Tripathi and Rajat Patidar are in the reckoning to make it to the ODI squad. Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Prasidh Krishna and Kuldeep Sen will form the pace attack while Kuldeep Yadav and Shahbaz Ahmed will be the specialist spinners in the side.

India’s three-match ODI series will be played from October 6-11.

India’s Predicted Squad for ODI Series: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Prithvi Shaw, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper),  Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Umran Malik, Prasidh Krishna, Kuldeep Sen