Sri Lanka name two vice-captains for tour to India; banned Karunaratne in squad | INDvSL

Xtra Time Web Desk: Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee on Wednesday selected 20-member squad to take part in the upcoming tour of India 2022/23. The Honorable Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs, Roshan Ranasinghe, has given his approval for the squad. Interestingly, SLC have appointed two vice-captains for the tour who will be assisting Dasun Shanaka. Wanindu Hasaranga has been named vice-captain for T20I series while Kushal Mendis will be Shanaka’s deputy in ODIs. The series will feature three T20Is and three ODIs starting in Mumbai from January 3.

Nuwanidu Fernando has earned a maiden call-up, while Chamika Karunaratne is recalled to the squad despite serving a ban imposed on him by SLC for an alleged misconduct during the T20 World Cup in Australia. Karunaratne and Fernando’s inclusion in the squad comes after an impressive show in the recently concluded Lanka Premier League (LPL). Karunaratne is the highest wicket-taker for Kandy Falcons in LPL.

Here is the Sri Lankan squad for the tour to India:

1) Dasun Shanaka – Captain

2) Pathum Nissanka

3) Avishka Fernando

4) Sadeera Samarawickrama

5) Kusal Mendis – Vice Captain for ODIs

6) Bhanuka Rajapaksa – Only for T20Is

7) Charith Asalanka

8) Dhananjaya de Silva

9) Wanindu Hasaranga – Vice Captain for T20Is

10) Ashen Bandara

11) Maheesh Theekshana

12) Jeffrey Vandersay – Only for ODIs

13) Chamika Karunaratne

14) Dilshan Madushanka

15) Kasun Rajitha

16) Nuwanidu Fernando- Only for ODIs

17) Dunith Wellalage

18) Pramod Madushan

19) Lahiru Kumara

20) Nuwan Thushara – Only for T20Is