Rishabh Pant injured or dropped from white ball squads against Sri Lanka? | INDvSL

Xtra Time Web Desk: With the focus on building a team for the T20 World Cup 2024, the selectors have taken some bold decisions while announcing the squads for the upcoming three match T20I series against Sri Lanka at home. Rishabh Pant has been not been included in T20 squad, as selectors picked Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson. KL Rahul too did not find a place in any squads.

According to reports the Delhi wicket-keeper batter has got a niggle and has been asked to report to the National Cricket Academy. Question is when did he get injured. He looked fine during the recently held test series against Bangladesh.  

There have been reports that Pant was dropped because of his recent performances in white ball cricket. With the Delhi cricketer clearly not working out, selectors wanted to look at Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson. Ishan recently slammed the fastest double century in ODIs. Sanju has backed his claims with runs whenever he has got an opportunity.

Ishan Kishan also had scored three half centuries in last 16 innings while Samson did not get enough opportunities. Samson’s strike rate of 158.4 have been the best among the keepers. Only Suryakumar Yadav has the better strike rate.

KL Rahul has also been dropped due to his inconsistent show. Although there is no clarification in BCCI release whether he is dropped or rested. Former India captain Virat Kohli too has made himself unavailable for the three match T20I series. Kohli has been kept in the ODI squad. Another interesting fact was Shikhar Dhawan too not finding a place in ODI squad.            

As expected, Hardik Pandya will lead the Indian team for T20I series. Rohit Sharma has still not recovered fully from the thumb injury he suffered during the second ODI against Bangladesh. Rohit has been included in ODI squad subject to his fitness.

Here are the two squads for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka:

India’s squad for Sri Lanka T20Is: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

India’s squad for Sri Lanka ODIs: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.