Rajat Patidar, Mukesh Kumar earn maiden call up as selectors name 16 member squad for ODI series | INDvsSA

Xtra Time Web Desk: Rajat Patidar and Mukesh Kumar has earned maiden call-up in the 16 member India squad for the upcoming three match ODI series against South Africa. As expected, Shikhar Dhawan has been named as the captain while Shreyas Iyer will be the vice-captain. It is to be noted that most of the T20 World Cup bound players have been rested for the final leg of this home white-ball series against the Proteas.

The selectors have picked two wicket-keepers in Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson. The selection committee has also named Rahul Tripathi and Shubman Gill in the 16 member squad along with Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan.

In order to give more game time, the selectors have kept Deepak Chahar and Mohammed Siraj in the ODI side. They will immediately leave for Australia after the completion of ODI series as they both are in the stand-by for T20 World Cup squad along with Shreyas Iyer.  

There was speculation that Mohammed Shami, who recently recovered after testing Covid-19 will be in the ODI side to have some game time. But surprisingly Shami is not in the ODI side. Umran Malik, who has been added as a reserve player for the T20 World Cup bound Indian squad has also not been included in ODI squad for the series against Proteas.

Here is India’s ODI squad against South Africa: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shreyas Iyer (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar.