Prithvi Shaw named in T20 squad against NZ, Ishan Kishan selected in test squad against Aussies   

Raining of Centuries by Yash Dhull, Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw and Yashasvi Jaiswal in Duleep Trophy Quarter Finals.

Xtra Time Web Desk: The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked Prithvi Shaw in India’s T20I squad for the upcoming series New Zealand. Shaw is being rewarded for his consistent show in domestic cricket. He recently scored his maiden triple ton (379 runs) in the Ranji Trophy game against Assam.

The selectors have also picked the squad for the three match ODI series against the BlackCaps. Both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli does not feature in the T2O squads against the Kiwis.

India’s ODI squad against New Zealand: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik.

India’s T20I squad against New Zealand: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar.

KL Rahul & Axar Patel were unavailable for the New Zealand Home series due to family commitments.  

The Selection Committee also picked India’s squad for the first two Tests against Australia for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Jasprit Bumrah is not included in the 17-member test squad as he will not recover fully from the back injury. The selectors have named Ishan Kishan in the test squad as Rishabh Pant will not be available. Ravindra Jadeja’s inclusion in the test squad is subject to fitness.

India’s Test squad for the first two Tests against Australia: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.

The tour will kickstart in Nagpur from the 9th of February. This will also be the last edition of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy which will be a 4-match Test series feature.