New Zealand name T20I squad for tour to India; Auckland Aces pacer Ben Lister is the new face

Xtra Time Web Desk: New Zealand have not included Kane Williamson and Tim Southee for the upcoming three match T20I series against India. The 15-member squad has Auckland Aces left-arm swing bowler Ben Lister. He was part of the New Zealand A tour to India. Lister was named Auckland Cricket’s Men’s Bowler of the Year last season.

The 27-year-old’s tour to India with New Zealand A was cut short after he was struck down with pneumonia in Bangalore. The infection saw him spend time in hospital before returning home to New Zealand to continue his recovery.

Mitchell Santner has been named the captain of T20I squad that features an experienced T20 core including nine players from last year’s ICC T20 World Cup squad, along with a range of players newer to international cricket.

The squad includes Canterbury Kings all-rounder Henry Shipley fresh from his international debut in the team’s current ODI Series against Pakistan.

The squad also sees Otago Volts leg-spinning all-rounder Michael Rippon feature in a BLACKCAPS squad for the first time since his debut against Scotland on last year’s European Tour.

BLACKCAPS T20 Squad to tour India

Mitchell Santner (C) (Northern Brave)
Finn Allen (Wellington Firebirds)
Michael Bracewell (Wellington Firebirds)
Mark Chapman (Auckland Aces)
Dane Cleaver (Central Stags)
Devon Conway (Wellington Firebirds)
Jacob Duffy (Otago Volts)
Lockie Ferguson (Auckland Aces)
Ben Lister* (Auckland Aces)
Daryl Mitchell (Canterbury Kings)
Glenn Phillips (Otago Volts)
Michael Rippon (Otago Volts)
Henry Shipley* (Canterbury Kings)
Ish Sodhi (Canterbury Kings)
Blair Tickner (Central Stags)

Auckland Aces bowler Kyle Jamieson (back), Canterbury Kings bowler Matt Henry (abdominal) and Wellington Firebirds bowlers Adam Milne (side) and Ben Sears (back) were also unavailable for selection as they continue to recover from or manage injuries.

Continuing from the India ODI series Luke Ronchi will be head-coach with the squad with assistance from NZC network coaches Bob Carter (batting) and Paul Wiseman (bowling) along with Trevor Penney as fourth coach.

The T20 series against India starts in Ranchi on Friday January 27.