Mohd. Siraj replaces injured Jasprit Bumrah in T20I squad for remainder of series against Proteas | INDvsSA

Xtra Time Web Desk: The All-India Senior Selection Committee named Mohd. Siraj as replacement for injured Jasprit Bumrah for the remainder of the T20I series against South Africa.

The right-arm pacer has last played a T20I against Sri Lanka earlier this year. While he is a confirmed selection in Test cricket, Siraj isn’t a regular in India’s white-ball teams.

Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar and Umesh Yadav are four other pacers in the T20I squad for the ongoing series against Proteas. Umesh was benched for the first game while the other three pacers were part of the playing XI.

SiraJ recently played County Championships for Warwickshire. He has been asked to join the squad in Guwahati immediately.

Meanwhile, Bumrah has sustained a back injury and is currently under the supervision of the BCCI Medical Team. He has been ruled out of the upcoming T20 World Cup as well. He will be need at least 4-6 months to recover fully. He is right now at the National Cricket Academy.

India squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohd. Siraj