Mashraffe Mortaza wins election, set to become MP

XtraTime Web Desk:
Bangladesh ODI captain Mahraffe Mortaza is all set to become the country’s first active cricketer to become a MP. Mashraffe, who contested from Narail 2 constituency on an Awami League ticket has swept his opponent by a whopping margin. The fast bowler got 2,74,418 votes against his nearest opponent who received just 8006 votes.

With this, he became the first active cricketer to become a Member of Parliament and the second national cricket team captain, after Naimur Rahman Durjoy, to enter the Parliament.

Polling in Bangladesh was held yesterday. The official declaration with regards to election results is yet to be made. The local media, however, have reported that Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina led Bangladesh Awami League is likely to make the government in the country for the third consecutive term.



Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins