Jitesh Sharma replaces an injured Sanju Samson for the remainder of T20I series against Sri Lanka

Xtra Time Web Desk: In what comes as a setback for Team India, wicket-keeper batter Sanju Samson has been ruled out of the remainder of the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka. Samson hurt his left knee while attempting to field a ball near the boundary ropes during the 1st T20I at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. He has not travelled with the team to Pune for the second T20I on Wednesday.

Samson was taken for scans and a specialist opinion this afternoon in Mumbai by the BCCI Medical Team and has been advised rest. He will travel to National Cricket Academy (NCA) for further rehabilitation.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Vidarbha wicket-keeper batter Jitesh Sharma as replacement for Sanju Samson.

India play the second T20I against Sri Lanka in Pune on 5th January, 2023.

India‚Äôs updated squad for Sri Lanka T20Is: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.