ISL 2022-23: ATK Mohun Bagan beat Bengaluru FC 4-3 on penalties to be crowned champions for the first time

Xtra Time Web Desk: ATK Mohun Bagan defeated Bengaluru FC 4-3 on penalties to be crowned the champions of Indian Super League for the first time at Fatorda in Goa. Both teams were locked 2-2 after the extra time. Vishal Kaith saved a shot from Bruno Ramirez in the tie-breakers while Pablo Perez shot it over the cross bar. Dimitri Petratos scored twice from penalties for ATK Mohun Bagan while Sunil Chhetri and Roy Krishna were in targets for Bengaluru FC.

Mariners were awarded a penalty in the 13” after Roy Krishna handled the ball inside the box. Petratos was on target beating the outstretched hands of Gurpreet Singh Sandhu. Against the run of play, Bengaluru FC got a penalty in the injury time of first half after Subhasish Bose fouled Roy Krishna inside the box. Sunil Chhetri, who came in as a replacement as early as the 3” scored from the spot. Both teams went into the breather with the scoreline 1-1.

The Green and Maroon brigade did create a few chances to take the lead. But it was Bengaluru who went ahead after Roy Krishna headed home from close range in the 77”. With a goal down, Juan Ferrando made double substitution with Subhasish and Hugo Boumous making way for Kiyan Nassiri and Brendon Hamill.

In the 83” ATK Mohun Bagan was awarded a controversial penalty as Kiyan Nassiri seemed to be fouled outside the box by Pablo Perez. Petratos was again on target as the score was level at 2-2.  

The result remained the same in extra time as the match went into penalty shoot-out. In the tie-breaker Petratos, Liston Colaco, Kiyan Nassiri and Manvir Singh scored for ATK Mohun Bagan. For Bengaluru FC Alan Costa, Roy Krishna and Sunil Chhetri were on target. Vishal Kaith saved Bruno Ramirez shot while Pablo Perez shot went over.