Ishan Kishan escapes suspension for trying to deceive on field umpire in first ODI | INDvsNZ

Xtra Time Web Desk: Team India wicket-keeper batter Ishan Kishan luckily escaped being suspended by ICC appointed Match Referee Javagal Srinath. The cricketer from Jharkhand could have been handed 4 match suspension for trying to deceive the on-field umpires during the first ODI against New Zealand. Fortunately for Ishan, none of the on-field umpires – Nitin Menon and Anil Chaudhury reported the matter to Srinath as a result no action was taken against him.

The incident happened when Ishan tried to deceive the on-field umpire while appealing against Black Caps captain Tom Latham. He tried to trick the leg umpire into believing that Latham may have hit the stumps while trying to play a shot during the 1st ODI at Hyderabad.

Kishan appealed for Latham’s dismissal, but replays showed the wicketkeeper had deliberately knocked a bail off with his empty glove – at his second attempt. This was done long after Latham had hit the ball.

None of the Indian players including captain Rohit Sharma was aware of the incident.

According to Article 2.15 of ICC Code of Conduct it is a LEVEL 3 offence as Ishan tried to take an unfair advantage. This charge leads to a suspension of minimum 4 ODIs or Twenty20 internationals.