Indian team to have a short camp in Nagpur ahead of test series against Australia

Xtra Time Web Desk: The Indian test squad will have a short camp in Nagpur ahead of the four test match series against Australia starting from February 9. The camp will start at the Orange City from February 2. The Indian team will train at the old stadium of Vidarbha Cricket Association stadium in Civil Lines on February 02 and 03 before practicing at the VCA stadium from January 4.

The Indian players currently part of T20I squad for the series against New Zealand will assemble in Mumbai on February 1 before travelling to Nagpur. Team India captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravindra Jadeja will join the test squad in Nagpur.  The senior players have been given a short break after the ODI series against BlackCaps.

The Australian test squad led by Pat Cummins will arrive in India on February 2. They will head straight to Nagpur from Mumbai where they will also have a short camp. The Aussies will also train at the old stadium in Nagpur on February 02 and 03.

The upcoming four-match Test series against Australia is extremely important for India in the context of World Test Championship Final qualification. Rohit and his boys will have to win the series 2-0 or 3-1 to qualify for the WTC Final in June. The first Test of the series begins on February 9 in Nagpur.

Indian test squad for Australia series: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.