India to host 2025 Women’s World Cup; Laxman added to ICC cricket committee

Former India cricketer VVS Laxman has been inducted into the ICC Cricket Committee along with former BlackCaps spinner Daniel Vettori. Image Source: Twitter

Xtra Time Web Desk: The ICC Board has approved Bangladesh, India, England and Sri Lanka as the four host countries of the ICC women’s white ball events from 2024-2027. The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be hosted by Bangladesh for the second time, with the 2026 edition going to England for the first time since 2009. The next ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025 will be staged by India and Sri Lanka will host the ICC Women’s T20 Champions Trophy 2027 subject to them qualifying for the event.

The hosts were selected via a competitive bidding process overseen by a Board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snedden along with Clare Connor, Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt. The ICC Board accepted the recommendations of the committee who conducted a thorough review of each bid along with ICC management.

The ICC Board also approved Lord’s Cricket Ground as the host for the ICC World Test Championship Finals in 2023 and 2025. 

Former New Zealand left arm spinner Daniel Vettori and former India batter VVS Laxman have been appointed to the ICC Men’s Cricket Committee as current player representatives. Roger Harper has been selected as the second past player representative on the committee joining Mahela Jayawardene. 

The ICC Board approved the process to elect the next Chair of the ICC which will take place in November 2022. The election will be decided by a simple majority and the term of the elected Chair will run for a two-year period from 1 December 2022 to 30 November 2024.