India beat Bangladesh by 188 runs in first test to go 1-0 ahead in series | BANvIND

Architects of Team India’s win – Mohammed Siraj, Cheteshwar Pujara and Kuldeep Yadav with stand-in captain KL Rahul. Photo: Debasis Sen

Xtra Time Web Desk: It took India 49 minutes to get the four remaining Bangladesh wickets to win the first test match by 188 runs here at Zahur Ahmed Chaudhury stadium on Sunday. Overnight batter Mehidy Hasan Miraz was the first to be dismissed as he was caught at backward point off Mohammed Siraj.

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan, who was not out on 40 kept playing attacking strokes as he soon reached his fifty. He slog swept and played some aerial strokes in his innings. But in trying to be too aggressive, Bangladesh captain brought about his downfall. He was bowled by Kuldeep Yadav, in trying to sweep him. Shakib’s knock of 84 runs was studded with six sixes and as many boundaries.

Post that dismissal, the last two wickets fell in quick succession as Kuldeep had Ebadot caught at short leg while Axar Patel got past the defence of Taijul Islam. The two left arm spinners ended up sharing seven wickets in the innings with Kuldeep also bagging his best-ever match haul of 8-113.

The second test will start at the Sher e Bangla stadium from December 22.

Brief scores: 

India 404 (Cheteshwar Pujara 90, Shreyas Iyer 86, R Ashwin 58; Taijul Islam 4-133, Mehidy Hasan Miraz 4-113) and 258/2 decl (Shubman Gill 110, Cheteshwar Pujara 102*)

Bangladesh 150 (Mushfiqur Rahim 28; Kuldeep Yadav 5-40, Mohammad Siraj 3-20) and 324 (Najmul Hossain Shanto 67, Zakir Hasan 100, Shakib Al Hasan 84; Axar Patel 4-77, Kuldeep Yadav 3-73)