IFA show causes Mohun Bagan Officials


IFA show causes Mohun Bagan Officials. Courtsey : Xtra Time

Kolkata : Barely a few days have passed since their arch rivals East Bengal have won their seventh successive Calcutta Premier League (CPL) title and the Mohun Bagan officials seem to have tangled themselves in yet another controversy. The 2014-15 I-League Champions had infamously boycotted the much-awaited Kolkata derby on 7th September 2016 to hand a walkover to the Red-and-Gold brigade which propelled them to clinch their seventh straight Local League silverware.

The Indian Football Association (IFA) today show caused Mohun Bagan officials Debasis Dutta & Srinjoy Bose based on their comments on TV and newspapers. The League Sub-Committee also decided at its meeting on Tuesday at the IFA that East Bengal will be awarded 3 points for getting walk over from their arch-rivals Mohun Bagan in the derby on September 7. The Sub-Committee further decided that the decision on the remaining two points will be made only after the completion of the league.

Mohun Bagan’s Assistant Secretary Srinjoy Bose has refrained himself from making any comment on the League Sub-Committee’s decision. According to Srinjoy, “Let me first get the letter from IFA. I am not in a position to comment without knowing the exact reason.”

The IFA will be sending the letter by next week. Both Bose and Dutta need to reply within the next seven days after receiving the letter. The disciplinary committee will meet again to decide on the further course of action.

The Mariners ended their 2016 Calcutta League campaign a couple of places behind their arch rivals with 19 points in their kitty. Sanjoy Sen’s boys concluded their campaign on a disappointing note after being handed a 0-1 defeat by the runners-up Mohammedan Sporting Club.


Breaking News:
  • IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins     IPL 2019: Kings XI Punjab beat Rajasthan Royals by 14 runs in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Mumbai Indians to start their season on a winning note     IPL 2018: Limelight on Steve Smith as Rajasthan Royals set to start its campaign against KXIP     Full IPL schedule likely to be announced on Monday     David Beckham is getting a statue outside of the LA Galaxy’s stadium