Hardik Pandya given out controversially by the third umpire in 1st ODI against NZ  |  Watch Video

Xtra Time Web Desk: In an absolutely bizarre incident Team India all rounder Hardik Pandya was given out by the third umpire during the first ODI between India and New Zealand at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Wednesday. The dismissal of Hardik has created a huge uproar among fans and former cricketers on social media as replays showed the all rounder was clearly not out.  

The TV replays clearly showed that the ball missed the stumps and it seemed that BlackCaps keeper Tom Latham’s gloves hit the stumps leading to the bails flashing. However, after a lengthy check, the third umpire decided to give Hardik out in a decision that left cricket lovers fuming.

The incident took place on the 4th ball of the 40th over. Hardik played and missed a shot outside the off stump off a delivery from Daryl Mitchell. BlackCaps wicket-keeper Tom Latham standing up to the stumps, broke the stumps. In the first go, it felt as if Hardik Pandya had chopped the ball onto the stumps. Eventually, the third umpire was referred but after watching the replays multiple times, the decision was not overturned.

The replay clearly showed that Hardik did not nick the ball and it went on to Latham’s gloves who dislodged the bails. While dislodging the bails, Hardik was in his crease, hence it was not a stumping either.

Once again, the incident goes to show that the umpiring standards have gone down considerably and Hardik is the latest victim of it.