Four spinners added as net bowlers as Team India begin preparations for 1st test against Australia in Nagpur | INDvsAUS

Team India all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja batting in the nets at the old VCA stadium on Friday. Image Courtesy: BCCI

Xtra Time Web Desk: The Indian test squad began their short preparatory camp in Nagpur on Friday ahead of the first test match against Australia which starts at the VCA stadium in Jamtha from February 9. The main focus on Day 1 of the camp was playing spin.

According to reports coming from Nagpur, the selectors have named four net bowlers to the test squad and all of them are spinners. Left arm spinner Saurabh Kumar, Rahul Chahar, Sai Kishore and another spinner has been added as net bowlers. Off spinner Washington Sundar, who was recently part of the Team India’s white ball squad for the series against New Zealand has also been added to the test squad. In fact, the spinner from Tamil Nadu bowled for a long time at the nets.

The practice session on Friday was a closed door one at the old stadium of VCA at Civil Lines. The Indian players will turn up for another closed-door practice session on Saturday before a rest day on Sunday, February 05.

The Indian team management are leaving no stone unturned as they prepare for a crucial Border Gavaskar Trophy starting next week. A lot is at stake with India needing to win the series by at least 2-0 or 3-1 margin to seal a spot in the World Test Championship Final in June.

If training is anything to go by, KL Rahul could very well bat in the middle order in the 1st test. All eyes were Ravindra Jadeja, who was making a comeback in the Indian team after a long injury lay-off.  

India’s Test squad for the first two Tests against Australia: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.