FIFA Men’s Player Award: Nominees announced! No Neymar & Pogba, who made it to the list?


XtraTime Web Desk: Star players like Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Kylian Mbappe  are shortlisted for the FIFA Men’s Player award, but there is no place for Brazilian superstar Neymar. Not only the Brazil star but also French star Paul Pogba is also not there in the list.

Neymar finished third in the voting last year but, despite winning three domestic trophies with Paris Saint-Germain after leaving Barcelona, an underwhelming World Cup on his return from a fractured foot saw the Brazil superstar omitted.

Pogba shone at Russia 2018 as France won the World Cup for the first time in 20 years, but the Manchester United midfielder did not follow international team-mates Mbappe, Antoine Griezmann and Raphael Varane on to the list.

Varane is the only defender included, alongside his Real Madrid colleague Luka Modric – the World Cup’s Golden Ball winner.

Mohamed Salah’s stunning first year at Liverpool earns the Egypt attacker a place, with Premier League stars Eden Hazard, Kevin De Bruyne and Harry Kane nominated too.

Ronaldo has won the award in each of the two years since the prize was launched, with Messi second on both occasions.

Players, coaches, fans and the media will vote for the winners, with the victor to be announced at a London ceremony on September 24.


Shortlist in full:

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid and France)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Belgium)
Harry Kane (Tottenham and England)
Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain and France)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal, Real Madrid in 2017-18)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)
Raphael Varane (Real Madrid and France)



Breaking News:
  • IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins     IPL 2019: Kings XI Punjab beat Rajasthan Royals by 14 runs in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Mumbai Indians to start their season on a winning note     IPL 2018: Limelight on Steve Smith as Rajasthan Royals set to start its campaign against KXIP     Full IPL schedule likely to be announced on Monday     David Beckham is getting a statue outside of the LA Galaxy’s stadium