Devendro to lead Indian boxing team in Mongolia

L Devendro Singh (52kg) will spearhead a seven- strong Indian men’s boxing challenge at the Ulaanbaatar Cup Invitational Tournament. Image Source:

Internet Desk: At the Ulaanbaatar Cup Invitational Tournament in Mongolia, Commonwealth Games silver-medallist L Devendro Singh (52kg) will be heading a seven-strong Indian men’s boxing challenge.

The Ulaanbaatar Cup will be held in Ulaanbaatar, the capital of Mongolia from the 20th to 26th June.

The former Asian silver-medallist is also a two-time Olympian and is continuing his conversion from light flyweight to flyweight.

Two-time King’s Cup gold-medallist, K Shyam Kumar (49kg) is also a part of the team. Both Devendro and Shyam Kumar were ruled out of the August-September World Championships in Germany after they had missed out on the selection for the Asian Championships.

Mohamed Hussamuddin has been picked in the bantamweight (56kg) category. He had won a gold medal at the Strandja Memorial Tournament in Bulgaria earlier this year.

Asian Youth silver-medallist Ankush Dahiya has taken the lightweight spot. He had won a bronze medal at the National Championships in Guwahati.

Two-time King’s Cup bronze-medallist Rohit Tokas has been selected in the light welterweight (64kg) category.

The Ulaanbaatar Cup will be a comeback for five-time world champion M C Mary Kom, who was yesterday named in a three-strong women’s team for the event. Mary Kom has been out of competitive action for the last one year.

The teams:

Men: K Shyam Kumar (49kg), L Devendro Singh (52kg), Mohamed Hussamuddin (56kg), Ankush Dahiya (60kg), Rohit Tokas (64kg), Duryodhan (69kg), Jaideep (75kg).

Women: M C Mary Kom (51kg), Priyanka Choudhary (60kg), Kalawanti (75kg).

With inputs from PTI.



Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins