Denmark Open: Saina storms into the finals after a long gap, Srikanth looses in the semis

XtraTime Web Desk: Indian star shuttler Saina Nehwal enters the final of Denmark open while Kidambi Srikanth loses semifinal clash to World No. 1 Kento Momota 21-16, 21-12. Saina Nehwal gave a brilliant one-sided performance to get the better of Indonesia’s Gregoria Tunjung 21-11, 21-12 in just 30 minutes to book the final spot where she will clash with top seed TAI Tzu Ying.

Despite a spirited performance from Srikanth Momota was too good for the defending champion, knocking him out to book the final spot.

Nehwal won her maiden Denmark Open title in 2012, and this is only her second entry into the final of the event. She will meet her nemesis Tai Tzu Ying of Chinese Taipei, with memories of the Asian Games semifinal defeat still fresh in mind.

The World No. 10 from India was aggressive right from the start and took a 4-1 lead to start the first game. She stayed ahead and made it 9-4 before leading 11-5 at the break.

Nehwal’s dominance kept getting better with a one-way traffic taking the score to 16-6 in her favour. The ace Indian shuttler’s confidence also showed in a couple of close line-calls that she reviewed to turn the verdict in her favour.

The Indonesian saved three game-points but couldn’t prevent the inevitable as Nehwal went on to close the first game at 21-11 in just 13 minutes.



Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins