Copa America: Superstars left out as Brazil & Argentina announce squads

XtraTime Web Desk: The famous COPA AMERICA returns with its 46th edition, with a galaxy of superstars expected to take part this summer.

Lionel Messi is expected to be among those as Argentina eye their first title since 1993 – while Chile target third success in a row.

Messi will be hoping to win the Copa America at the fourth time of asking after finishing runners-up on three occasions
Despite the name, the Copa America will also feature Asian Cup finalists Qatar and Japan, in order to ensure a full compliment of teams compete.

With the competition set to get underway on June 14, Brazil surprisingly left out Tottenham Hotspur superstar Lucas Moura and Liverpool star Fabinho. On the flip side Mauro Icardi finally gets the cut into the Argentina probables. Here are the squads for Brazil and Argentina – the two powerhouses.


Tite’s final 23-man squad is as follows:

Alisson, Ederson, Cassio, Dani Alves, Fagner, Alex Sandro, Filipe Luis, Thiago Silva, Miranda, Marquinhos, Eder Militao, Casemiro, Fernandinho, Arthur, Allan, Lucas Paqueta, Philippe Coutinho, Neymar, Everton, David Neres, Richarlison, Roberto Firmino, Gabriel Jesus


Argentina’s 40-man preliminary squad is as follows:

Franco Armani, Agustin Marchesin, Geronimo Rulli, Esteban Andrada, Juan Musso, Nicolas Otamendi, Gabriel Mercado, Ramiro Funes Mori, Marcos Acuna, Nicolas Tagliafico, German Pezzella, Walter Kannemann, Renzo Saravia, Juan Foyth, Angel Di Maria, Roberto Pereyra, Giovani Lo Celso, Leandro Paredes, Maximiliano Meza, Rodrigo De Paul, Exequiel Palacios, Guido Rodriguez, Ivan Marcone, Federico Zaracho, Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Paulo Dybala, Angel Correa, Mauro Icardi, Lautaro Martinez, Gonzalo Martinez, Matias Suarez



Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins