CFL 2018: Pintu Mahata the hero, Mohun Bagan becomes the unbeaten Champions with a thrilling win

A breathtaking free kick from Tirthankar Sarkar and a sensational strike by Derby-hero Pintu Mahata spoil the day for Mohammedan Sporting, as the Green and Maroon brigade snatch a sensational 2-1 victory against Mohammedan Sporting in their last match of the Calcutta Football League to become unbeaten champions.

After a goal-less first half, Mohammedan Sporting started to put pressure on their rivals in the second half. The man who shattered the dreams of East Bengal in the in the previous mini-derby came on as a substitute in the 61st minute of the game.

In the 73rd minute of the game, Adjah scored a phenomenal goal to shock the Mohun Bagan fans at the Salt Lake Stadium.

But Bagan coach Shankarlal Chakraborty brought on Tirthankar Sarkar as a substitute, who is known for his trademark set-piece moves. It was Tirthankar who scored yet another fabulous free kick to equalize in the game.

But the dramatic moment came in the 86th minute when Derby hero Pintu Mahata scored a terrific winning goal to help the Mariners start the celebration in the stands. It was Dipanda Dicka, who was there with the assist for Pintu.

The win puts Mohun Bagan with 29 points off 11 games and the unbeaten champions of the league.



Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins