Big day in women’s cricket | All eyes on WIPL Team Auction to be held in Mumbai

Xtra Time Web Desk: The stage is set for the much anticipated Women’s IPL team auction to be held on January 25 in Mumbai. The Board of Control for Cricket in India will announce the owners of 5 teams of WIPL 2023. It is going to be a game changing day for women’s cricket in the country.

Women’s IPL teams will have a much bigger auction purse (US$2.1m) than the current men’s BBL salary cap (US$1.3m) making it one of the hottest properties.

17 entities including Seven IPL team owners have submitted financial bids to own WIPL teams. Three IPL franchises – Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Gujarat Titans (GT) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) have pulled out of the bids.

All eyes will be on the seven IPL franchises including Mumbai Indians (MI), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Punjab Kings (PBKS), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will battle it out to own a WIPL team. 

On Monday, BCCI received 17 technical bids. Out of them, 10 are non-IPL team owners. Some of the big non-IPL owners in the fray are Adani Group, Capri. Global, Haldiram’s Group, Torrent Pharma, Apollo Pipes, Amrit Leela Enterprises, Shriram Group and Slingshot 369 Ventures Private Limited.

BCCI has not set any base prices for the bidders. The bids will have to be submitted in a sealed envelope. As many as ten cities have been shortlisted as home bases by BCCI. The cities are Ahmedabad, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru, Delhi, Dharamsala, Guwahati, Indore, Lucknow and Mumbai.