Bengal knocked Out of Syed Mustaq Ali Trophy


Bengal’s dismal run in Syed Mustaq Ali Trophy continued . Image Courtesy : Xtra Time

Nagpur : Bengal were knocked out of the Syed Mustaq Ali Trophy following their 4 wickets loss against Vidarbha  . It was their third loss in the tournament after having lost against Tamil Nadu and Gujarat .  Bengal’s stand in captain Ashoke Dinda won the toss and elected to bat first . Sayan Sekhar Mondal and Avishek Das gave Bengal a solid start , putting 98 runs off  just 13 overs . Sayan Sekhar was the first batsman to depart . The left hander  scored a brisk 52 runs off 38 balls before getting out caught by Jangid off the bowling of Karnewar . Abhisek Das who was promoted up the order followed him soon after scoring 56 runs off 52 balls , Wriddhiman Saha , who got himself down the batting order at No. 3 did not last long at the crease . He was out caught by Wakhare off the bowling of Jangid for only 9 runs . Bengal were soon 122/3 from 98 for no loss after 17.1 overs . Pankaj Kumar Shaw striked boundaries off consecutive three balls he face , to take Bengal’s score to 147/5 . In reply Vidarbha had a disastrous start losing opener JM Sharma for only 12 runs . Dinda gave the breakthrough for Bengal . Mukesh Kumar striked soon , getting rid off  HS Joshi for 3 runs . Vidarbha were in a spot losing two wickets with the score on 20 runs . Faiz Fazal was involved in two useful partnerships with G Satish and A Wankhade . Fazal scored 49 runs off 44 balls before eventually getting out bowled by Pramod Chandila . Although  Vidarbha lost wickets  at regular intervals  , they never looked like drifting away from the match  . They chased the target with five balls to spare , winning the match by 4 wickets . Karnewar remained not out on 18 runs . Bengal play their last match against Haryana on January 09 .


Breaking News:
  • IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins     IPL 2019: Kings XI Punjab beat Rajasthan Royals by 14 runs in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Mumbai Indians to start their season on a winning note     IPL 2018: Limelight on Steve Smith as Rajasthan Royals set to start its campaign against KXIP     Full IPL schedule likely to be announced on Monday     David Beckham is getting a statue outside of the LA Galaxy’s stadium