BCCI President Sourav Ganguly gets nostalgic watching former teammates play at Eden Gardens | Legends League Cricket

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly at the Eden Gardens to witness the opening match of the Legends League Cricket on Friday night.

Xtra Time Web Desk: He may have decided not to play the opening fixture of Legends League Cricket at Eden Gardens, but BCCI President Sourav Ganguly was the cynosure of all eyes in the stands to witness the glittering laser show and fireworks for the start of LLC season 2. The board President was spotted seated in the lower tier of the Club House at Eden Gardens with his friend Jaidip Mukherjee and former Bengal coach Arun Lal. CAB President Avishek Dalmiya and other office bearers were also present. The former India captain definitely must have gone nostalgic watching his teammates Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammed Kaif, Parthiv Patel, Irfan Pathan play a benefit match at the Eden Gardens.

The motley crowd that gathered at the iconic stadium for a Legends match on Friday was treated with one of the best laser shows in recent times that cast a dream like spell on the majestic Eden Gardens on this balmy September evening.

As the World Giants innings folded for 170 for 8 to a disciplined attack from Indian Maharajas, and innings break was announced, Eden Gardens came alive to a psychedelic show of laser rays swaying to the rhythm of Rang de Basanti, Made in India and Suno Ghaur Se Dunia Walo.

The climax of the show was the synchronised movement of the stadium led lights, the newly installed floodlight operating on DMX system integrated with music and a bevy of laser rays decorating the night sky with geometric patterns along with the song Ma Tujhe Salam transporting people to a world of wishful thinking. 

As far as cricket was concerned, it was pure nostalgia for the sparsely gathered crowd as the likes of Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan Yousuf Pathan, Sreesanth, Md Kaif, Harbhajan Singh enthralled them along with Jaques Kallis, Kevin O Brien, Muttiah Muralitharan and others.

It was the Indian Maharajas who emerged as the winners beating World Giants by six wickets.

With Inputs from CAB Media