Bangladesh name squad for 1st test against India; Tamim Iqbal yet to recover from groin injury | BANvIND

Xtra Time Web Desk: Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal has been ruled out of the first test against India starting at the Zahur Ahmed Chaudhary stadium in Chittagong from December 14. Tamim had missed the ongoing ODI series as well owing to a groin injury he suffered while training ahead of the start of ODI series. The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Thursday named a 15-member squad for the first test.

Fast bowler Taskin Ahmed who missed the ODI series has been included for the first test. Shakib al Hasan will lead the test side with Liton Das as his deputy.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz, India’s biggest nemesis on this tour so far, will be the specialist spinner in the side along with Taijul Islam. Zakir Hasan was rewarded for his fine century against India A, as he earned his maiden call up to the senior squad.

Here is the Bangladesh squad for the first Test: Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hassan Shanto, Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (C), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Zakir Hasan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Anamul Haque Bijoy