Asian Games 2018: PV Sindhu creates history, Saina Nehwal settles for Bronze

PV Sindhu creates history in the Asian Games 2018.
File Pic.

XtraTime Web Desk:
 Ace India shuttler PV Sindhu creates history as she outclassed second seed Akane Yamaguchi of Japan 21-17, 15-21, 21-10 to secure a place in the women’s singles badminton final at the Asian Games. In the process, the 23-year-old became the first Indian to reach the final of an Individual event at the Games. Sindhu will take on world no. 1 Tai Tzu Ying in the final tomorrow. Earlier, Saina Nehwal lost 17-21, 14-21 to world number one Tai Tzu Ying and will take home a bronze medal at the 18th Asian Games in Indonesia. The ace Indian shutter was no comparison to Chinese Taipei’s Tai Tzu Ying, who was at her best to beat Saina in straight games.

Olympic medallists PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal headed for a gold medal showdown at the 18th Asian Games after their quarterfinal victories ensured India’s first ever women’s singles medals at the Continental event. First it was London bronze medallist Saina, who ended a 36-year-old wait for an individual medal after locking at least a bronze following a 21-18 21-16 win over world number five Ratchanok Intanon in a 42-minute quarterfinal. Rio silver medallist Sindhu then fought past world number 12 Nitchaon Jindapol 21-11 16-21 21-14 in the other quarterfinal. In the semifinals, Saina faces world no 1 and top seed Tai Tzu Ying of Chinese Taipei, while Sindhu will take on world no 2 Akane Yamaguchi of Japan. This is the first time Indian women singles shuttlers are assured of a medal in Asian Games. And India will have the first singles medals in badminton after the 1982 Asiad when Syed Modi won the bronze.


Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins