Ahmedabad test ends in a draw as India clinch series 2-1 | INDvsAUS

Xtra Time Web Desk: The fourth and final test match between India and Australia ended in a draw with the hosts clinching the four match series 2-1. Rohit Sharma and his boys also retained the Border Gavaskar Trophy for a consecutive fourth time.

After the first three Tests ended in less than three days on raging turners, the final test match was played on a lifeless pitch as just 22 wickets fell across 15 sessions.

Trailing by 88 runs, Australia were comfortably steered to safety by Travis Head (90) and Marnus Labuschange (63 not out) as the match was called off early with neither team capable of securing a victory.

The teams shook hands just an over after Cheteshwar Pujara bowled the second over of his 102-Test career.

Australia declared on 175-2 with Labuschange (63*) and Steve Smith (10*) at the crease after making 480 in their first innings with Usman Khawaja (180) and Cameron Green (114) scoring memorable centuries. India posted 571 runs in the first innings with Virat Kohli scoring a brilliant 186 runs and Shubman Gill also notching up a century (128).

India also won 2-1 the last time they hosted Australia in 2017, while they also secured memorable away series victories in 2018-19 and 2020-21.

Both teams will meet again in June for the World Test Championship final at The Oval in London.