Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Take a look how the famous sports celebs performed

XtraTime Web Desk:
 Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) had a clean sweep over the votes as the Lok Sabha 2019 elections results are finally out.
This election saw a variety of sports stars contest for pole positions in their respective constituencies. While some of them triumphed, others did not perform particularly well. Here is a detailed analysis of how the sports stars in politics fared in their respective constituencies.
Gautam Gambhir – BJP
Just like how he opened the Indian innings with a bang in his cricketing days, Gautam Gambhir had a blistering start to his political career. Contesting in the elections from East Delhi, Gauti not only cemented himself as a politician he did it in style. As of now, Gambhir has 52.2% (3,10,086) votes from his constituency and is winning by an extremely big margin. The person coming in second is way behind with a mere 1,53, 279 votes as of now.
Rajvardhan Rathore – BJP
Former Indian Olympian shooter and current Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs, Rajvardhan Rathore contested for the elections in Jaipur rural area. He is representing BJP and is leading the tally with a big margin as well. As of now, the former shooter has 63.8% (2,68,325) votes out of the total, which is a clear indicator of his dominance.

Prasun Banerjee – TMC:

Arjuna Awardee and former footballer Prasun Banerjee wins from Howrah by a handsome margin, as he had a lead of around 1 lakh vote. He represented Trinomool Congress and easily left Rantidev Sengupta.

Krishna Poonia – INC
Former short put champion, Krishna Poonia has also turned towards politics and is contesting in the Jaipur rural elections as well. She is representing the Indian National Congress (INC) party. Unfortunately, the champion is not acing the game in politics and is losing to Rajvardhan Rathore. As of now, she has 33.8% (1,42,055) votes, which is second best to the winner.
Kirti Azad – INC
Former Indian cricketer Kirti Azad has been in politics for a while. He is another sports star that is representing the Indian National Congress (INC) from Dhanbad area. He is currently losing to Poonam Prabhakar of BJP with 31.2% (85,078) votes from his constituency.
Vijender Singh – INC
Former Indian boxer and gold medalist, Vijender Singh is also one that is contesting in the 2019 elections. Vijender is representing the Indian National Congress (INC) party in the South Delhi constituency. Unfortunate for him and the party he is also on the losing side with only 13.76% (1,54,474) as of now.
It seems like it is a dark day for the INC party as well as their former sports stars army. On the other hand, BJP are enjoying success overall as well as with the former sports stars.


Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins