IND vs AUS 2017: Find out the Indian players who will face Australia in the ODIs


The selectors have picked a 16-member squad for the first three ODIs against Australia. File Pic

Internet Desk: The All-India Senior Selection Committee today picked a 16-member squad for the first three ODIs of the upcoming five-match ODI series against Australia. The Committee also named the India ‘A’ squad for the two four-day games against New Zealand ‘A’. Virat Kohli led Indian cricket team is in red hot form as they had just beaten Sri Lanka at their own back-yard by 9-0.

Steve Smith’s Australian cricket team reached Chennai last night at Chennai after playing a 1-1 draw in the Test series against Bangladesh. The selectors again haven’t given a chance to veteran left-hand batsman Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina. They brought back frontline pacers Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav back into the mix.

The selectors have given rest to Ravindra Jadeja and they haven’t included star off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has county commitments at Worcestershire.

“The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the Board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested. The team’s performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will in turn supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours,” MSK Prasad, the chairman of selection committee said.

The first three ODIs will take place at Chennai, Kolkata and Indore respectively. Both the team will travel to Bangalore and Nagpur after that for the final two matches, later they will lock horns in a three-match T20I series.

The committee has also picked the India ‘A’ squad for two matches against New Zealand A, which will start from September 23. Karun Nair will lead the side against New Zealand ‘A’.

The team for first three ODIs against Australia is as follows:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

India A: Priyank Panchal, R Samarth, Sudip Chatterjee, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Karun Nair (Captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, K Gowtham, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Ankit Rajpoot.

Related News

Breaking News:
  • Faf expressed his anger about the Centurion track after the series win     Kohli’s wicket was the special moment for me: Ngidi     Unacceptable to lose in such a manner: Virat     ISL 2017: ATK takes full advantage of transfer market, signs domestic and international players     Debutant Ngidi guides Proteas to 135 runs win at Centurion, win series     Vijay Mallya’s corruption creates controversy, another team in trouble     Proteas smell victory at Centurion after Ngidi late burst     India need 287 to win the second Test at Centurion     Afghanistan will play their maiden Test in one-off game against India in Bengaluru from June 14 to 18     I-League 2017-18: Ultra defensive East Bengal drops vital points against Aizawl