Asian Games 2018: Dutee Chand wins second silver, ends 16-year wait for the nation

XtraTime Web Desk: Great news for India as the nation’s star sprinter Dutee Chand bagged her second silver medal in the ongoing Asian Games in Jakarta where she finished her women’s 200m final race in second spot.

With this India gets its 52nd medal in the ongoing games and it was the second medal for India on day 11 after Achanta Sharath Kamal & Manika Batra clinched mixed team bronze earlier today. The nation now have 9 gold, 20 silver and 23 bronze so far.

Earlier couple of days back Dutee won silver in 100m final race and today she became the second fastest lady of Asia in 200m race where she finished the race in 23.20 seconds. The fastest woman was Bahrain’s Odiong Edidiong as she finished the race in just 22.96 seconds. The bronze medal was bagged by China’s Wei Yongli who took 23.27 seconds to finish the race.

India had to wait for 16 years to win a medal in women’s 200m race. The last athlete who won a medal for India in this event was Saraswati Saha. She won the gold medal back in 2002.

Dutee’s silver in the 100m was also India’s second at the Games after PT Usha’s silver medal at the 1986 Asiad in Seoul.

Related News


Breaking News:
  • This win is a huge boost for us for the remainder of the test series, says Virat Kohli     1st Test: India seal historic win to take 1-0 lead in the Test series     I-League 2018/19: East Bengal rallies past Gokulam, grabs crucial win before the derby     The match is slightly in our favour, says Jasprit Bumrah     1st Test, Day 3: Pujara, Rahul & Kohli put India on the driver’s seat against Australia     Virat Kohli joins elite list on Australian soil     1st Test, Day 2: Bowlers led India to make a strong comeback at Adelaide Oval     1st Test, Day 1: Cheteshwar Pujara’s sensational ton saves the day for India     It will be tough to hold back Kohli in this series: Steve Waugh     I-League 2018/19: East Bengal’s sixth foreigner arrives in Kolkata