Another satisfactory season for Bengal, a report


Bengal team returned to the city on Tuesday. File Pic

Kolkata: Bengal ended their domestic season yesterday losing the Vijay Hazare Trophy final against Tamil Nadu at the Feroz Shah Kotla. Bengal lost the final by 37 runs. It was a satisfactory season for Manoj Tiwary and his boys, as they became group champion in Syed Mushtaq Ali Zonal T-20 Zonal tournament and reached the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Bengal team arrived from Delhi today afternoon. Captain Manoj Tiwary blamed the batsman for the loss against Tamil Nadu.  According to Tiwary, “We had the match in our grip but did not execute according to the plan. It was a complete batting collapse. These things happen in cricket when you are chasing small targets. I am proud of the group, the way they have performed throughout the tournament, winning 16 out of 18 matches.”

Youngsters like Kanishk Sheth, Sayan Ghosh has been a revelation for the Bengal side this season. According to Manoj, “The biggest positive has been the consistency shown by the youngsters. Hopefully we can keep the same consistency in the next season. They have been improving day by day.”

On being asked whether the youngsters were a bit nervous playing in the big final, Tiwary said, “A few youngsters were under pressure in the final yesterday. These same boys can give you trophy in the coming years. It is not the end. It is just the start.”

Bengal had a disappointing run in the Ranji Trophy season. The Manoj Tiwary led team played eight matches in the Ranji Trophy winning only two matches while losing one and drawing four games. Bengal finished at fifth place in Group A.

Once again Manoj Tiawry (643) and Sudip Chatterjee (557) were the top scorers for Bengal in the Ranji Trophy and Dinda was the pick of the bowlers with 39 wickets in seven matches. Among the youngsters Agniv Pan, Ishan Porel, Amit Kuila, Prosenjit Das and Sayan Ghosh showed their talents on the field but in patches.

In the T-20 format, Bengal became the group champion in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Zonal T-20.  East Zone won the All India Zonal tournament under Manoj’s leadership.

Bengal won their last 16 out of 18 matches in the limited overs format. Though Manoj Tiwary’s side lost the Vijay Hazare Trophy final but their overall performance in the tournament was very good. They had beaten heavyweight sides like Team Rajasthan, Mumbai, Maharashtra. In the semifinal Bengal thrashed former India skipper MS Dhoni led Jharkhand to reach the final. Abhimanyu Easwaran (442), skipper Manoj Tiwary (378), Shreevats Goswami (345) were the top scorers for the side in the Vijay Hazare. On the other hand veteran left arm spinner Pragyan Ojha took 15 wickets for his side. Among the youngsters Kanishk Seth showed his brilliant form with the ball as he took 11 wickets from just six matches.

Breaking News:
  • Asia Cup 2018: Imam, Malik show hand Pakistan a thrilling win against Afghanistan     Asia Cup 2018: Rohit & bowlers give India an easy win over Bangladesh     We are the role models for our country: Mohammad Nabi     Ricky Ponting sends warning to the Indian batsmen ahead of Australia tour     Asia Cup 2018: Confident Indian team ready to face Bangladesh     UEFA Champions League: Ronaldo shown red card on his UCL debut for Juventus, may miss the United clash     Asia Cup 2018: We all are going to be positive and strong against Pakistan, says Shikhar Dhawan     Asia Cup 2018: India escape Hong Kong test ahead of crunch tie against Pakistan     Asia Cup 2018: Pakistan’s new PM Imran Khan likely to watch the Indo-Pak match     Asia Cup 2018: Dhoni likely to use lighter bats for the tournament