3rd ODI: Stellar Rohit Sharma show sees India winning the ODI series

Internet Desk: India yet again put up a stellar performance to take an unassailable 3-0 lead over hosts Sri Lanka in the 3rd ODI of the five match series at Pallekele today. India won the game by 6 wickets when they were set to a mere target of 218 runs.

Batting first the island nation hosts managed only 217-9 in the allotted 50 overs owing to some brilliant bowling spells from Jasprit Bumrah who bagged up 5 wickets for the Men in Blue. As for the Lankan’s Thirimanne was the highest scorer with 80 runs.

Indian star opener Rohit ‘Hitman’ Sharma registered his 12th ODI century after he scored a magnificent 124* which consisted of 16 fours and 2 sixes. Much like the previous game, Indian middle order had yet another batting collapse when star performers like skipper Virat Kohli, Kedar Jadhav and Lokesh Rahul failed to add scores to the board.

However the reins of the Indian innings were once again held by former skipper and arguably the best finisher of modern times, MS Dhoni who along with Rohit played a vital partnership and guided India to victory.

Dhoni scored a brilliant 67 which consisted of 4 fours and a lone sixer. As for the Lankans Akila Dananjaya scalped 2 wickets while Malinga and Fernando claimed one each.

When India were 210-4 in the 44 over and just shy of the target by 8 runs, the match was stopped or some odd 32 minutes when some agitated Sri Lankan fans started throwing bottles into the ground. The match was ultimately restarted after stands at one side of the ground were completely cleared.

This win sees India being the winners of the five match ODI series however the question remains as to whether India will be able to register a whitewash in this series similar to the test series.
India will play 2 ODI games followed by a single T20 game.

Related News


Breaking News:
  • ISL 2017-18: Depleted ATK to face Mumbai City FC tomorrow     ISL 2017-18: Kerala Blasters edged past NorthEast United 1-0     I-League 2017-18: Mohun Bagan to face Neroca FC on Sunday     I-League 2017-18: Gokulam Kerala FC stuns East Bengal 2-1     India to face South Africa in the first T20I on Sunday     India thumped South Africa 5-1 in the six match ODI series     I-League 2017-18: Indian Arrows held defending champions Aizawal FC 2-2     ISL 2017-18: Bengaluru FC played out a 1-1 draw with FC Pune City     I-League 2017-18: East Bengal will face Gokulam Kerala FC in a must win game on Saturday     Mithali Raj’s brilliance hands India nine-wicket win over Proteas