1st Test: Shakib Al Hasan leads Bangladesh to an epic victory over Australia


Shakib Al Hasan took 10 wickets to help Bangladesh to register their first ever Test win against Australia. Image Source: ICC

Internet Desk: Bangladesh stuns Australia in a thriller as they beat the visitors by 20 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the two-match Test series at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka today. This is the first time that Bangladesh has beaten the mighty Aussies in the longer format of the game.

1st Innings, Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal 71, Shakib Al Hasan 84; Australia: Pat Cummins 3/63, Nathan Lyon 3/79, Ashton Agar 3/46. Australia: Matt Renshaw 45, Ashton Agar 41; Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan 5/68, Mehidy Hasan 3/62.

2nd Innings, Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal 78, Mushfiqur Rahim 41; Australia: Nathan Lyon 6/82; Australia: David Warner 112, Steve Smith 37, Pat Cummins 33; Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan 5/85; Taijul Islam 3/60.

The Bangladeshi Tigers made history today by beating Steve Smith’s Australia in a thriller. Earlier in the morning Aussie skipper Steve Smith and David Warner came to bat and they needed only 156 runs with 8 wickets in hand. But Smith lost his wicket after adding just 12 more runs to his account. Though Warner completed his century but all the other batsmen failed to put up a good fight against Bangladeshi spin bowling. Shakib Al Hasan celebrated his 50th Test appearance by scoring 84 in the first innings and finishing with a 10-wicket match haul, a performance worthy of his status as the world’s top-ranked Test all-rounder. After Warner’s dismissal, Aussie tail-ender played some good shots to give some hope to the visitors, but his fight went in vain as Taijul Islam trapped Josh Hazlewood plum in front of the wicket to hand the side a historic win over Australia. Shakib was adjudged Man of the Match for his brilliant all-round performance.

Related News


Breaking News:
  • IND vs AUS 2017: Kuldeep Yadav’s magical spell sees India taking a 2-0 lead     IND vs AUS 2017: Laudable knocks from Kohli & Rahane helps India to put up a competitive score     IND vs AUS 2017: Do you know who is the toughest Australian cricketer to bowl according to Kuldeep?     A new feather in the cap for Mahendra Singh Dhoni     CFL 2017: A thundering hat-trick from Willis Plaza seals the top spot for East Bengal ahead of the Kolkata Derby     FIFA U17 World Cup: India picks the captain of the team in an unique fashion     IND vs AUS 2017: Hardik & Dhoni steer India towards a remarkable come back     Korea Open SS: Redemption for PV Sindhu against Okuhara in the final     Sourav Ganguly’s misquoted comment on Sehwag leads into controversy     IND vs AUS 2017: Jadeja to replace injured Patel for the first three ODIs against Australia