CFL 2018: Mohun Bagan thump Tollygunge 3-0, regain the top spot from East Bengal

Azharuddin Mallick after scoring his goal against Tollygunge Agragami. Image Source: XtraTime

Kolkata: It’s a tough battle going on between the arch rivals Mohun Bagan and East Bengal in the Calcutta Football League 2018. Last night East Bengal beat Aryan Club 3-0 to go on the top of the table and today Mohun Bagan destroyed Tollygunge Agragami 3-0 to regain their position at the top. Dipanda Dicka, Azharuddin Mallick and super sub William Lalnun Fella were the scores for the Green & Maroon Brigade.

Due to the celebration of the Bagan fans with fireworks, there was a bit smoke in the ground and the referee was forced to stop the game for two and a half minutes. The referee gave four added minutes but the result remained the same.

In the last few matches Mohun Bagan used to score in the 70th or 80th minute, but today they got their first goal on 29th minute of the game. After receiving a ball from outside the box their star forward Dipanda Dicka opened the score the score through a brilliant header. Just after 3 minutes Dicka’s shot hit the bar. On the 34th minute of the game Azharuddin Mallick extended the lead for the Mariners when he scored through a header from Arijit Bagui’s corner. On the 60th minute Azhar dodged the goalkeeper of Tollygunge but failed to score an easy goal. On the 82nd minute of the game Bagan’s super-sub William Lalnun Fella put the final nail on Tollygunge’s coffin as he scored his team’s third and final goal.



Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins