Will Samson, Shami get a chance in 15 member Indian squad for upcoming T20 World Cup?

Xtra Time Web Desk: It is going to be a three-way race between Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik & Sanju Samson. Rajasthan Royals captain Sanju Samson seems to be the dark horse to make it to the 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. The selection committee led by Chetan Sharma will meet in Mumbai to pick the 15-member squad for the marquee event which will start Down Under in October. The selectors are also going to pick the squads for the home series against Australia and South Africa.

Another key area of discussion will be whether to include Mohammed Shami as the third pacer in Australia. With Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel regaining full fitness, both are set to be picked in the T20 World Cup squad and T20I series against Australia. There will be a tough fight between Deepak Chahar and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. With Hardik Pandya bowling his full quota of 4 overs regularly in recent T20 matches, he will be the fourth seamer in Australia. Arshdeep Singh, who impressed in Asia Cup matches will keep his place in T20 side.

As far as spinners are concerned, it will be a tough fight between Ravichandran Aswin and Ravi Bishnoi for a spot in World Cup squad. Leg spinner Ravi Bishnoi bowled brilliantly against Pakistan during the Super 4 clash in recently concluded Asia Cup but since then he had not featured for India.

Since the squad will be a 15 member one, Shreyas Iyer is likely to be on standby along with Avesh Khan and Deepak Hooda

Lets look at the probable 15 member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant/Sanju Samson, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzuvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin/Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit Bumrah, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar/Bhuvneshwar Kumar , Mohammed Shami and Arshdeep Singh