Rohit Sharma led Indian cricket team departs for Australia for T20 World Cup 2022

Indian cricket team before their departure to Perth on Thursday. Image Courtesy: BCCI

Xtra Time Web Desk: The Indian cricket team led by Rohit Sharma departed for Australia in the wee hours on Thursday, October 6 for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022. The Indian players left for Perth from Mumbai via Singapore.

The first batch comprised of players of main squad along with reserves. The main squad players include captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Deepak Hooda, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzuvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The Indian team will camp in Perth and will train at the bouncy tracks of WACA. They will also play two practice games against Western Australia side on October 10 & 12 respectively before leaving for Brisbane for the two official warm up games against Australia and New Zealand on October 17 & 19.

The Men in Blue are placed in Group 2 alongside arch rivals Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh and two qualifiers. Rohit and co will kick start their T20 World Cup 2022 campaign against Pakistan at the MCG on October 23.