Padma Awards: Bajrang Punia, Sharath Kamal gets the special honour from the President of India

XtraTime Web Desk: Sportspersons including wrestler Bajrang Punia, veteran table-tennis players Sharath Kamal and chess grandmaster Harika Dronavalli were honoured with the Padma Shri by the President of India Sri Ram Nath Kovind on Monday.

Punia was great in the last year as he won the Gold medal in the Commonwealth Games and Asian Games. He also got a silver medal at World Championships and a bronze medal at the Asian Championships last year.

Table Tennis player Sharath Kamal won four medals in the 2018 Commonwealth Games, including a historic gold in the men’s team event.

Indian kabaddi team captain Ajay Thakur is also a recipient of the Padma Shri Award. Veteran mountaineer Bachendri has been honoured with the Padma Bhushan.

The Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian awards of the country — are conferred in three categories: the Padma Vibhushan, the Padma Bhushan and the Padma Shri.

As many as 112 ‘inspiring’ personalities were selected for this year’s Padma awards and their names were announced on the eve of Republic Day this year. The remaining awardees are likely to be conferred the honour at another function to be held on March 16, a Home Ministry official said.


Here are the names of the awardees:

Padma Bhushan

Bachendri Pal – Mountaineering

Padma Shri

Sunil Chhetri – Football

Harika Dronavalli – Chess

Gautam Gambhir – Cricket

Sharath Kamal – Table Tennis

Bombayla Devi Laishram – Archery

Bajrang Punia – Wrestling

Prashanti Singh- Basketball

Ajay Thakur – Kabaddi




Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins