IPL franchise owners linked with buying all 6 teams at CSA T20 League auction; Graeme Smith to lead the league: Reports

Xtra Time Web Desk: Six IPL franchises are linked with buying six franchises of Cricket South Africa’s global T20 Leagues. Although no winning bids have been announced officially, reports suggests that as many as six teams are brought by current IPL owners. Cricket SA (CSA) has appointed Graeme Smith to lead the new T20 League scheduled to take place in the country in January and February next year.

The global T20 league is the brainchild of former IPL COO Sundar Raman. Top IPL owners from India like Mukesh Ambani of Mumbai Indians, N Srinivasan of Chennai Super Kings, Parth Jindal of Delhi Capitals, the Marans of SunRisers Hyderabad, Sanjiv Goenka of Lucknow Super Giants and Manoj Badale of Rajasthan Royals, are believed to have acquired ownerships of available six franchises of the league as per the reports by Cricbuzz.

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, the two most successful IPL franchises, are set to have their teams based in Cape Town and Johannesburg, respectively. Delhi Capitals will have Centurion in Pretoria, called the Pretoria Capitals. Sanjiv Goenka, the owner of the Lucknow Super Giants, is eyeing the Durban franchise. SRH could have its team in Port Elizabeth, while the Rajasthan Royals will have the team based in Paarl.