Bengal confident ahead of facing Tamil Nadu in Vijay Hazare Final

C5wQM73WQAE75_V (1)

Manoj Tiwary led Bengal will face Tamil Nadu in the Vijay Hazare Trophy Final. File Pic

Internet Desk: A confident Bengal led by Manoj Tiwary will face Vijay Shankar’s heavyweight side Tamil Nadu in the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium on Monday.

Both Bengal and Tamil Nadu have showed their character in the limited overs format, as they played back-to-back finals in the 2008-09 and 2009-10 editions.

Tamil Nadu had won on both occasions, with Abhinav Mukund and Murali Vijay scoring centuries.

It will be an occasion when Tiwary and his young boys can extract revenge against Vijay Shankar’s team who are known to fire on big occasions.

On paper, Tamil Nadu may be slightly better side than Bengal on a man to man basis. Dinesh Karthik with 495 runs is a match-winner on his day. A breezy 65-70 runs from Karthik can turn the match on its head.

“Bengal are a fantastic side and I would not like to believe that Tamil Nadu are favourites tomorrow. The best part is that we have had players who have performed throughout the tournament,” seasoned Karthik said.

“It would have been great had Abhi (Abhinav Mukund), (Murali) Vijay and (Ravichandran) Ashwin been there as they were a part of earlier triumphs. But they are on national duty so we knew won’t get them. But one player we genuinely miss is T Natarajan for the variations that he can bring,” Karthik said.

Seasoned Karthik will have an answer in Bengal’s young opener Abhimanyu Easwaran, who is second in the list with 471 runs to his credit. The national selection committee thinks highly of Easwaran and no wonder he is a part of India U-23 Emerging squad.

Not to forget skipper Vijay Shankar, who is being groomed as an all-rounder with bigger responsibilities in mind.

But he will face resistance from Tiwary, a man with a penchant for firing on big occasions in domestic circuit.

“Tamil Nadu has been a good limited overs side. I remember that we dropped Mukund’s catch during 2009 finals while Vijay’s chance was dropped during 2010 finals. They are a fantastic 50-overs side. Also the Feroz Shah Kotla wicket is pretty similar to the ones in Chennai. So they are familiar with conditions. We have happy memories of this ground as we won the trophy in 2012 when Dada (Sourav Ganguly) was around,” Tiwary said.

Asked about the team combination, the skipper said: “I will take a call tomorrow after looking at the conditions.”

However, it is expected that Bengal will stick to the winning combination.

Both teams have had contrasting passage to the final.

While Tamil Nadu have chased modest 200 plus totals comfortably against Gujarat in the quarter-final and Baroda in the semi-final, Bengal won two high-scoring matches in the knock-out stages.

Against Maharashtra, Bengal successfully chased 318 — their highest in Hazare Trophy history and then plundered 329 against Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Jharkhand.

Both teams have had some utility cricketers performing at the right time.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Shreevats Goswami with scores of 74 and 101 in the quarter-final and semi-final will be bubbling with confidence.

Sudeep Chatterjee anchored the run-chase in quarters and is one of the coolest heads in the Bengal set-up.

Similarly, the Baba brothers — Aparajith and Indrajith will love to come out all guns blazing against Bengal. There is off-spinner MS Washington Sundar about whom Karthik spoke very highly and young opener Kaushik Gandhi.

From Bengal, there will be young and old combo of Agniv Pan and Anushtup Majumdar fighting it out with them.

In bowling department, Bengal have two wily campaigners in former India players Pragyan Ojha and Ashok Dinda compared to Anthony Aswin Crist and Rahil Shah.

With inputs from PTI.



Breaking News:
  • ICC CWC 2019: India beat Australia by 36 runs to make 2 in 2 in the World Cup     ICC CWC 2019: We are a stronger side than Champions Trophy side, says Kohli     ICC CWC 2019: Pakistan beat hosts England o register their first win in the tournament     ICC CWC 2019: Bangladesh beat South Africa in their opening game to register a historic win     UCL 2018/19: Liverpool beat Tottenham to be crowned champions of Europe for sixth time     ICC CWC 2019: West Indies thrash Pakistan by 7 wickets in their opening game     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat SRH by 39 runs to go up second in the points table     IPL 2019: SunRisers Hyderabad registers an emphatic 118 runs win over RCB     IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders in this season’s first super over     IPL 2019: KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs to register their back to back wins